Tanner Babcock

Film Review Finder

Return to Film Reviews

Review for Taste Date Views
Woody Allen

"Tanner, did you really watch all of these Woody Allen movies?" Yes, I really did. Most of them more than once.

I've decided that Woody Allen was both, at different phases in his c

November 6, 2019 37
David Cronenberg

David Cronenberg is a prophetic filmmaker. He keeps coming back from the dead, when you least expect it, like Jesus. He is a mastermind of the macabre: wires coming out of people's faces, bugs, eja

September 27, 2019 24
Carl Theodor Dreyer

Carl Theodor Dreyer is probably the most important figure in film. Everything influential, emotional, profound, painful, and intense, can be traced back to his work, as he was the first guy to d

November 18, 2018 40
Lars von Trier

Lars von Trier is a dangerous filmmaker. When I say "dangerous", I don't mean physically dangerous like he could hurt you or something, I mean the ideas his films present are often abusively challe

November 18, 2018 24
Michael Haneke

Michael Haneke is a dangerous filmmaker, a very cold one, whose characters experience intense detachment, dissolution of love, and dissociation. His films have a remarkably brutal approach to st

October 23, 2018 21
David Lynch

Eraserhead

Eraserhead is a spiritual journey of a simple man. Henry Spencer, trapped physically in an industrial capitalist hellscape,

February 15, 2018 42
Hiroshi Teshigahara

My interpretation of Woman in the Dunes: The entomologist is the working class. The village council is the handful of billionaires in capitalism. The rations delivered down are wages, and

August 21, 2017 24
John Cassavetes

John Cassavetes is probably the single most important American filmmaker. He was a profound student of human emotion, and he insisted his audiences felt exactly what he was feeling. He did this wit

May 7, 2017 22
Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman was a genius. He was the original master of despair, the wizard of neuroses and emotional trauma. His works are inscribed with real wisdom of both romantic and family relationships.

May 6, 2017 36
Nicolas Winding Refn

I think he has some potential, but so far he hasn't made anything too mind-blowing.

November 30, -0001 30