Tanner Babcock

Music Review Finder

Return to Music Reviews

Review for Taste Date Views
Henry Knollenberg

Henry Knollenberg has been my good friend of 4 or 5 years. We played in Culture Chester together with the infamous Newt Grundy, and he has made several appearances on my a

September 25, 2019 58
Have a Nice Life

Alright boys, for those of y'all who haven't been blackpilled/wrist-slitter-pilled on the tremendous emotional behemoth known as Dan Barrett, hang onto your hats because I'm gonna drop a truth bom

August 31, 2019 32
Slint

Ugh, okay. I thought this was one of those bands that you don't have to explain. Like, the importance of how influential it was is very clear to people. I don't want to drone on and on about someth

June 18, 2019 25
Current 93

Current 93 is fucking weird. They come from a very esoteric and concealed background. They have very strong, demanding images and themes involving cults, Thelema, Agape, uncommon Christian and Paga

April 24, 2019 30
Faust

The following review was selected for the front page of Rate Your Music.com in August 2013. I recently recovered it from a high school document.

AC/DC

she wuz a FEST MACHINE she kepta MODUH clean she's a best damn wum'n that ay eva see FUCK YEAH!!!!!!

March 25, 2019 32
Led Zeppelin

You know what's wrong with Led Zeppelin? What it really is about them that drives me nuts (besides you know, everything)? They literally plagiarized the majority of their first two studio albums

December 5, 2018 26
Foetus

Jim Thirlwell is a mastermind of exaggeration - he has clouds of smoky charisma, red-hot testosterone, and abrasive musical debauchery, blowing out of his ears and creeping out his pores like re

October 23, 2018 25
Spiritualized

Spiritualized is something that is holy, enigmatic, religious even, but at the same time depraved, sinful, tempestuous. It is music about self-abuse, neglect, love, and redemption. Psychedelic g

August 10, 2018 24
The Velvet Underground

The Velvet Underground was probably the most historically important rock band of all time. Pioneers of objectively original, and almost criminally subversive sound, the original quintet has achi

July 17, 2018 36
Frank Zappa

Now Frank Zappa was probably the most unique, the most uncharacteristically intellectual, and the most stylistically adept and adaptable rock composer of all time. To describe Zappa's work simpl

March 28, 2018 34
Burzum

"Okay Tanner, what's the deal? Where did all of this interest in black metal come from? You've been the avant-folk and psych guy for like 4 years."

Burzum, solo project of con

March 24, 2018 26
Animal Collective

Animal Collective is something that is still real to me. I can sense them, the illusion of their aesthetics hasn't betrayed me yet. They come from a place of real warmth and compassion, something u

January 8, 2018 29
Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band

Trout Mask Replica

It baffles me, that the majority of the "serious" rock listening world has yet to truly appreciate the genius of Captain

December 20, 2017 31
Sun City Girls

It amazes me how the esoteric riddle of passion, Sun City Girls, the creative occultist engine masquerading as a rock band, has still eluded mainstream and contemporary rock listeners. This group i

May 29, 2017 22
Radiohead

How can anyone still listen to this overhyped, substanceless, commercialism incarnate? Is anyone still under the impression that Radiohead were inspired or influenced by anything at all? Radiohead

May 19, 2017 34
The Beatles

It is endlessly irritating that the majority of the rock-listening world is still under the delusion that The Beatles were anything other than a well-executed marketing gimmick. These were nothing

April 21, 2017 42
Swans

Swans was probably one of my most expensive and impassioned rock music fixations. While I'm not as crazy about them as I used to be, I still strongly believe in their music and will still defend it

April 19, 2017 34
The Residents

The Residents is a group (or rather, a multimedia art collective) you kind of have to explain to people. Over their 40-year career, the band never revealed their identities, their names and faces w

November 30, -0001 37
Cerberus Shoal

I am in love with this band. The fact that so few rock listeners have even heard of the genius of Cerberus Shoal, and even fewer took the time to appreciate or review their incredible music, only p

November 30, -0001 20